National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Office of the Administrator Washington, DC 20546-0001



March 15, 2005

NM 1000-14 SUPERSEDED BY NPD 1000.1C

TO:

Officials-in-Charges of Headquarters Offices

Directors, NASA Centers

FROM:

Acting Administrator

SUBJECT:

Realignment of the Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business

Utilization and the Office of Procurement

Last summer, NASA instituted a transformed organizational structure. The objective was to improve both short-and long-term operations. We stated, at that time, that the transformation was an ongoing process and subject to adjustments as opportunities for further improvements arose. Today I am announcing such an adjustment.

Effective immediately, the Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization and the Office of Procurement will move from the Office of the Chief Financial Officer to the Office of Institutions and Management.

The Small Business and Procurement functions across the Agency will continue their existing direct relationships with the Assistant Administrator for Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization and the Assistant Administrator for Procurement respectively. The Deputy Administrator will assume the role of NASA's Chief Acquisition Officer; the Assistant Administrator for Procurement will remain as the Deputy Chief Acquisition Officer.

I appreciate your support as we continue to improve our organization and take advantage of the exciting challenges ahead.

rederick D. Gregory

Officials-in-Charge of Headquarters Offices

Deputy Administrator/Mr. Gregory

- Assistant Deputy Administrator, Internal Operations/Ms. Hilding
- Executive Officer for Integrated Financial Management Program/Mr. Ciganer

Associate Deputy Administrator for Systems Integration/Ms. Kicza

Advanced Planning and Integration Office/Mr. Seery

Chief of Staff/Mr. Schumacher

White House Liaison/Mr. Jezierski

Chief Scientist/Dr. Garvin

Chief Health and Medical Officer/Dr. Williams

Director of Advanced Planning/Dr. Elachi

Chief Safety and Mission Assurance Officer/Mr. O'Connor

Chief Education Officer/Dr. Loston

Inspector General/Mr. Cobb

Associate Administrator for Exploration Systems Mission Directorate/Adm. Steidle

Associate Administrator for Space Operations Mission Directorate/Mr. Readdy

Associate Administrator for Science Mission Directorate/Mr. Diaz

Associate Administrator for Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate/Dr. Lebacqz Chief Financial Officer/Ms. Sykes

- Office of Procurement/Mr. Luedtke
- Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization/Mr. Thomas

Chief Information Officer/Ms. Dunnington

Chief Engineer/Mr. Geveden

• Deputy Chief Engineer/Mr. Cantrell

Associate Administrator for Institutions and Management/Mr. Jennings

- Office of Human Capital Management/Ms. Novak
- Office of Infrastructure, Management, and Headquarters Operations/Mr. Sutton
- Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity/Dr. Hayden-Watkins
- Office of Security and Program Protection/Mr. Saleeba

General Counsel/Mr. Wholley

Chief of Strategic Communications/Mr. Mahone (Acting)

- Office of Public Affairs/Mr. Mahone
- Office of Legislative Affairs/Mr. Forsgren
- Office of External Relations/Mr. O'Brien

Directors, NASA Centers

Ames Research Center/Mr. Hubbard

Dryden Flight Research Center/Mr. Petersen

Glenn Research Center/Dr. Earls

Goddard Space Flight Center/Dr. Weiler

Jet Propulsion Laboratory/Dr. Elachi

Johnson Space Center/Gen. Howell

Kennedy Space Center/Mr. Kennedy

Langley Research Center/Gen. Bridges

Marshall Space Flight Center/Mr. King

Stennis Space Center/Adm. Donaldson

cc:

Office of the Administrator/Ms. Fenn Executive Secretariat/Mr. Box Head of NSSC/Mr. Arbuthnot