National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Headquarters Washington, DC 20546-0001



NM 1400-28 SUPERSEDED BY NPR 1400.1D

November 7, 2005

Reply to Attn of: Management Systems Division

- TO: Officials-in-Charge of Headquarters Offices Directors, NASA Centers
- FROM: Deputy Assistant Administrator for Infrastructure and Administration

SUBJECT: Agency-level Directives Management Process

With the approval of NASA Policy Directive 1000.0, Strategic Management and Governance Handbook and the realignment of Center Directors reporting to the Associate Administrator, Rex Geveden, changes in the directives management process are necessary to ensure the appropriate review and concurrence of Agency-level directives. Effective immediately, Center Directors are concurring officials for all Agency-level directives and, as such, have the authority to provide direct feedback to the initiators of Agency-level policies and procedural requirements.

Center Directives Managers will be given supplementary training on the NASA Online Directives System Document Management System to perform appropriate duties with their Center Directors' authority. The Office of Infrastructure and Administration, Management Systems Division staff, will schedule and provide the training. Questions or concerns regarding the directives management process should be directed to John Werner at 202 358-0398.

/S/ Olga M. Dominguez

## **Officials-in-Charge of Headquarters Offices**

Deputy Administrator/Mr. Gregory

- Assistant Deputy Administrator, Internal Operations/Ms. Hilding
- Senior Advisor to the Deputy Administrator/Mr. Ralsky

Associate Administrator/Mr. Geveden

Assistant Associate Administrator/Ms. Johnson

Chief of Staff/Mr. Morrell

Deputy Chief of Staff and White House Liaison/Mr. Jezierski

Special Assistant/Mr. Shank

Senior Advisor for Aeronautics Technology/Dr. Porter

Associate Administrator for Program Analysis and Evaluation/Dr. Pace

Chief Safety and Mission Assurance Officer/Mr. O'Connor

Inspector General/Mr. Cobb

Associate Administrator for Exploration Systems Mission Directorate/Dr. Horowitz Associate Administrator for Space Operations Mission Directorate/Mr. Gerstenmaier

Associate Administrator for Space Operations Mission Directorate/Mr. Gerstenmaler

Associate Administrator for Science Mission Directorate/Dr. Cleave

Associate Administrator for Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate/Dr. Shin (Acting) Chief Financial Officer/Ms. Sykes

Chief Information Officer/Ms. Dunnington

Chief Engineer/Mr. Robinson (Acting)

Associate Administrator for Institutions and Management/Mr. Sutton (Acting)

- Office of Human Capital Management/Ms. Dawsey (Acting)
- Office of Infrastructure and Administration/Mr. Sutton
- Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity/Dr. Hayden-Watkins
- Office of Security and Program Protection/Mr. Saleeba
- Office of Procurement/Mr. Luedtke
- Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization/Mr. Thomas
- Chief Health and Medical Officer/Dr. Williams
- Executive Director, NSSC/Mr. Arbuthnot

General Counsel/Mr. Wholley

Chief of Strategic Communications/Mr. Davis

- Office of Education/Dr. Alston
- Office of Public Affairs/Mr. Mould
- Office of Legislative Affairs/Mr. Chase
- Office of External Relations/Mr. O'Brien

## **Directors, NASA Centers**

Ames Research Center/Mr. Hubbard Dryden Flight Research Center/Mr. Petersen Glenn Research Center/Dr. Earls Goddard Space Flight Center/Dr. Weiler Jet Propulsion Laboratory/Dr. Elachi Johnson Space Center/Gen. Howell Kennedy Space Center/Mr. Kennedy Langley Research Center/Ms. Roe Marshall Space Flight Center/Mr. King Stennis Space Center/Mr. Parsons

cc:

Office of the Administrator/Ms. Mays Office of the Administrator/Ms. Hutchinson Office of the Administrator/Ms. Soper Office of the Deputy Administrator/Ms. Fenn Office of the Associate Administrator/Ms. Brookover Executive Secretariat/Mr. Box

## **Headquarters Directives Managers**

Program Analysis and Evaluation

- Ms. Reid
- Chief Safety and Mission Assurance Office

  Ms. Loewy

  Inspector General

  Ms. Richardson

  Exploration Systems Mission Directorate

  Ms. Hamilton

  Space Operations Mission Directorate

  Ms. Hall

  Science Mission Directorate

  Ms. Jenkins

  Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate
  - Mr. Crockett

Chief Financial Office

• Ms. Cermak

Chief Information Office

- Ms. Shaeffer
- Chief Engineer Office

• Ms. Moore

Office of Institutions and Management

• Ms. Jennings

Office of Human Capital Management

• Ms. Frederick

Office of Infrastructure and Administration

- Ms. Bayon
- Ms. Bloxon
- Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity
  - Mr. Chambers
  - Mr. Torres

Office of Security and Program Protection

• Ms. Perry

Office of Procurement

• Mr. Flynn

Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization

• Ms. Chiogioji

Chief Health and Medical Office

• Ms. Barnes

Executive Director, NSSC

• Mr. Lind

General Counsel

- Mr. Lankford
- Mr. Harris

Chief of Strategic Communications Office

• Ms. Williams

Office of Education

Ms. Mackall

Office of Public Affairs

• Ms. Williams

Office of Legislative Affairs

• Ms. Costanzo

Office of External Relations

- Ms. Shephard
- Ms. Kamm

## **Center Directives Managers**

Ames Research Center

• Ms. Snow-Broadway

Dryden Flight Research Center

• Ms. Meske

Glenn Research Center

• Ms. Butts

Goddard Space Flight Center

- Ms. Teel
- Ms. Booker

Jet Propulsion Laboratory

• Ms. Mitchell

Johnson Space Center

- Ms. Ayala
- Mr. Cools

Kennedy Space Center

• Ms. Wynn

Langley Research Center

Ms. Johnson

Marshall Space Flight Center

- Ms. Fowler
- Ms. Wills

Stennis Space Center

- Ms. Nelson
- Ms. Pharr