EO 13003
Effective Date: May 15, 1996

Responsible Office: Office of General Counsel


Disputes exist between certain railroads represented by the
National Carriers' Conference Committee of the National Railway
Labor Conference, including Consolidated Rail Corporation
(including the Clearfield Cluster), Burlington Northern Railroad
Co., CSX Transportation Inc., Norfolk Southern Railway Co.,
Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Co., Union Pacific
Railroad, Chicago & North Western Railway Co., Kansas City
Southern Railway Co., and their employees represented by the
Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes.  The railroads
involved in these disputes are designated on the attached list,
which is made a part of this order.

The disputes have not heretofore been adjusted under the
provisions of the Railway Labor Act, as amended (45 U.S.C. 151 et
seq.) (the "Act").

In the judgment of the National Mediation Board, these disputes
threaten substantially to interrupt interstate commerce to a
degree that would deprive a section of the country of essential
transportation service.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as President by the
Constitution and the laws of the United States, including section
10 of the Act (45 U.S.C. 160), it is hereby ordered as follows:

Section 1. Establishment of Emergency Board ("Board").  There is
established effective May 15, 1996, a Board of three members to
be appointed by the President to investigate any and all of the
disputes raised in mediation.  No member shall be pecuniarily or
otherwise interested in any organization of railroad employees or
any railroad carrier.  The Board shall perform its functions
subject to the availability of funds.

Sec. 2. Report.  The Board shall report to the President with
respect to the dispute within 30 days of its creation.

Sec. 3. Maintaining Conditions.  As provided by section 10 of the
Act, from the date of the creation of the Board and for 30 days
after the Board has made its report to the President, no change,
except by agreement of the parties shall be made by the railroads
or the employees in the conditions out of which the disputes

Sec. 4. Records Maintenance.  The records and files of the Board
are records of the Office of the President and upon the Board's
termination shall be maintained in the physical custody of the
National Mediation Board.

Sec. 5. Expiration.  The Board shall terminate upon the
submission of the report provided for in sections 2 and 3 of this

                         /s/William J. Clinton

May 15, 1996.


Alton & Southern Railroad
Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Company
Bangor and Aroostook Railroad Company
Belt Railway Company of Chicago
Burlington Northern Railroad Company
Camas Prairie Railroad Company
Chicago and North Western Railway Company
Consolidated Rail Corporation (including the Clearfield Cluster)
CSX Transportation, Inc.
     The Baltimore and Ohio Chicago Terminal Company
     The Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Company (former)
     The Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Company (former) (Northern  
 and Southern Regions)
     Chicago and Eastern Illinois Railroad Company (former)
     Clinchfield Railroad (former)
     Louisville and Nashville Railroad Company (former)
     Monon Railroad (former)
     Richmond, Fredericksburg & Potomac Railway Company
     Seaboard Coast Line Railroad Company (former)
     Toledo Terminal Railroad Company (former)
     Western Maryland Railway Company (former)
     Western Railway of Alabama
  Galveston, Houston and Henderson Railroad
  Houston Belt and Terminal Railway
  The Kansas City Southern Railway Company
     CP-Kansas City Southern Joint Agency
  Lake Superior & Ishpeming Railroad Company
  Longview, Portland & Northern Railway Company 
  Los Angeles Junction Railway
  Manufacturers Railway Company
  Meridian & Bigbee Railroad Company
  Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad
     Oklahoma, Kansas & Texas Railroad
  Missouri Pacific Railroad
  New Orleans Public Belt Railroad
  Norfolk and Portsmouth Belt Line Railroad Company
  Norfolk Southern Railway Company
     The Alabama Great Southern Railroad Company
     Atlantic & East Carolina Railway Company
     Central of Georgia Railroad Company 
     The Cincinnati, New Orleans and Texas Pacific 
  Railway Company
     Georgia Southern and Florida Railway Company
     Interstate Railroad Company
     Norfolk & Western Railway Company
     Tennessee, Alabama and Georgia Railway Company
     Tennessee Railway Company
  Northeast Illinois Regional Commuter Railroad Corporation
  Northern Indiana Commuter Transportation District
  Peoria and Pekin Union Railway Company
  The Pittsburgh, Chartiers & Youghiogheny Railway Company
  Port Terminal Railroad Association
  Portland Terminal Railroad Company
  Spokane International Railroad
  Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis
  Union Pacific Railroad
  Utah Railway Company
  Western Pacific Railroad
  Wichita Terminal Association


Back to Main Menu